Linda Childs Hothem BAPS '85, 2015 Recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award


We are pleased to announce the recipients for the 2017 alumni achievement awards!

The Alumni Achievement Awards launched in 2012 as a way to recognize the outstanding work being accomplished by MIIS alumni. Our award recipients for 2017 are:

Distinguished Alumni Award:

Jennifer Brinkerhoff MPA ‘90

Young Alumni Achievement Award - GSIPM:

 Grant Ennis MPA '11

Young Alumni Achievement Award - GSTILE:

 Ryan Damerow MATESOL '11

Alumni Volunteer Service Award:

Magdy Ibrahim BAPS '85

You can read more about the 2017 recipients here.

Anyone can nominate alumni for their achievements and commitment to MIIS. Faculty, staff, students, or professional colleagues are encouraged to submit nominations. You are also welcome to self-nominate. The nomination process for the 2018 awards will open later this year. The award categories and criteria are as follows:

Distinguished Alumni Award:
• Recipient graduated 10 or more years ago.
• Recipient has achieved prominence in his/her field, and epitomizes the Institute's educational philosophy through their contributions to his/her community and/or field.
• Demonstrated record of service and philanthropy to MIIS.
• The alumnus is a role model to students and his/her journey provides motivation and inspiration to the Institute and its constituents.

Young Alumni Achievement Award  - two awards given:
• Recipient graduated within the last 10 years.
• Currently making great strides as a young professional in their field and/or community and engages with the MIIS community.
• Note that one recipient from both GSIPM (Graduate School of International Policy and Management) and GSTILE (Graduate School of Translation, Interpretation and Language Education) will be selected each year.

Alumni Volunteer Service Award:
• Recipient has given generously of his/her time to support MIIS.
• Engaged in activities related to chapter development/events, fundraising, student mentoring, career support, and/or recruitment.

Check out the 20122013, 20142015 and 2016 award recipient profiles.


2012 Alumni Achievement Award Recipients outside the Simoneau House

(L to R: Scott Webb MPA '07, Tarana Patel Chatterjee MATESOL '01, Sam Worthington MAIPS '84, Casson Trenor MAIEP '05)